Austin-Healey Replica Forum
You are not currently logged in and therefore do not have permission to view the full site. Please log-in or register. Not registered yet? Become a member of the Austin-Healey replica forum to access all of its features and disable advertisements.

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

You are not currently logged in and therefore do not have permission to view the full site. Please log-in or register. Not registered yet? Become a member of the Austin-Healey replica forum to access all of its features and disable advertisements.
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

california smog rules

4 posters

Go down

california smog rules Empty california smog rules

Post by flyinjohn Thu Oct 22, 2015 4:33 pm

Hi there,
I am the newbie here, and looking into buying one of these awesome cars.
I lost a great one last week that was in Texas, title as a 2000 'custom" , engine from 96 Camaro, 1965 Austin Healy body style (Classic Roadster). I was told that since it was titled as a '2000' in Texas it would have to meet the 2000 year California emissions check. In looking at these cars, none of them seem to meet Ca. emissions criteria.
SO wow I'm stumped. I have bought/ built old cars, but they were truly smog exempt. (The "latest"model is my 59 Chevy Pick up).
I have heard that Ca. gives out 500 SB 100 exempt certs per year. OK but how does a 2000 "model year" qualify or for that matter a 1996 engine etc... I just don't want to go to Arizona or Texas or wherever... Bring the car back here and be told it cannot be registered in California.
Any insight greatly appreciated!
thx
John

flyinjohn

Back to top Go down

california smog rules Empty Re: california smog rules

Post by Hotrod Thu Oct 22, 2015 10:19 pm